Finding the Right Word.

Our family suffered a saddening loss this week: my grandfather. He was a man like no other, who taught me to love books, elephants and handwriting letters.

While we are all mourning his passing, I believe he would have wanted us all to continue living life to its upmost; drinking in the sunlight when it shines and splashing in the rain when it falls. He would have wanted us to remember him exactly as he was (no airbrushing or idolising) and celebrate his life and accomplishments rather than be devastated over his death.

So I’m celebrating my grandfather’s intelligence and exquisite talent for writing and story telling. I was looking through some of the letters he sent me a few years back, and something he said made me laugh and weep at the same time:

“Finding the right word, the word that means exactly what you wanted to say and which gives you the rhyme you needed to finish a verse is one of those rare delights which make you smile inside and want to give yourself a hug.”

4 thoughts on “Finding the Right Word.

  1. This is just beautiful! I think everyday we are searching for the right words for various situations. I know sometimes I get so tongue tide that when I finally do find the right word it’s such a blessing. I wish you all the very best and hope that your memory of him never fades.

Leave a Reply

